News   Mar 28, 2024
 364     0 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 365     1 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 712     0 

GO Transit: Service thread (including extensions)

Wait...so that isn't an entrance to Durham College??
That’s what makes this event dumber. The campus isn’t even nearby.

Metrolinx crapped their pants with this one. And why would a public institution go for naming rights? If I was a student I’d be pissed.

I had always wondered about this! Do you know if there are any public records available for how much and how these property taxes are administered? And how far does it extend to "all the railways" - for example, does MX pay property tax to municipalities?
I don’t know of any documents but one recent public example was the Orangeville Brampton Railway. Orangeville paid about $400,000 per year in taxes to Caledon, Brampton, and Mississauga for a 55 kilometre railway. I believe the railways are subject to the going property tax rates of the subject municipalities.

I strongly disagree with naming stations like this:
And this is why I have zero faith in Metrolinx for naming a transit station (as if the station names on Eglinton weren't a big enough debacle, hello Eglinton station on the Eglinton line, or renaming Eglinton West needlessly, or a station name like "Fairbank" which to this day I can't remember where it is).

And this is why I have zero faith in Metrolinx for naming a transit station (as if the station names on Eglinton weren't a big enough debacle, hello Eglinton station on the Eglinton line, or renaming Eglinton West needlessly, or a station name like "Fairbank" which to this day I can't remember where it is).
What's hilarious to me about this was that the entire point of station name sponsorship was to raise revenue for the province. Durham College is provincially-funded, so they basically gave away the naming rights for net-zero revenue (when you zoom out beyond the Metrolinx budget).