2.6K     4 
News   Mar 18, 2024
 774     0 

St Lawrence Market

dt_toronto_geek

Superstar
Member Bio
Reaction score
I was surprised to find no thread for this neighbourhood.
This article made me feel all warm and fuzzy as I pondered a move there, one which I've been considering for several years.

BERCZY PARK
TheStar.com | GTA |
Oasis amid skyscrapers has a magic of its own

Dec 22, 2008 04:30 AM
Comments on this story (5)
Kenneth Kidd
Feature Writer

berczy.jpg

It's a drizzling rain, the one falling this December midday, and Nona Alexander is tightly tucked into a full-length green overcoat and burgundy cloche. Lord Montgomery, as always, is at her side, his fur as salt and pepper as the snow under his paws.

They have been coming here, to Berczy Park, just about every lunch break for the last four years. It was Lord Montgomery's doing, really.

Until the miniature schnauzer arrived in her life and started coming with her to work – "It's a very progressive company" – Alexander used to march straight past the park on her way to St. Lawrence Market. Now she lingers, happy at the discovery of a soothing ritual.

"There's always something interesting going on," she says. "You can sit and watch people. There are birds and the squirrels."

It's an unlikely respite, this little oasis nestled against the gleaming ridge of office towers two blocks to the west.

"You wouldn't think there's a park here," she says, nodding her head softly toward the bank buildings. "King and Bay is just over there and all that craziness.

"Okay, shorty, we have to go back," Alexander says to her stroll-mate, who is preparing to lunge at a nearby pigeon. "Don't even think about it." She tugs at Lord Montgomery's leash. "He thinks he owns the place."