Toronto 88 Scott Street | 203.9m | 58s | Concert | P + S / IBI

It's sad that Urban Shocker has to bring the Nazis into this discussion. Clearly the old girl is off her rocker. In a world of curves and novel shapes she just can't cope.

Total newbie here, raised in Toronto but now living in Vancouver. I have had dealings with three BC based developers, one of them Concert. Concert is the best of the three, by far. I have fairly detailed knowledge of a Concert project that will commence construction in early 2012. I don't see skimping on material or design and ihave dealt closely with the architecht they have employed on a companion building.

I recognize that there is little reason to accept the word of a brand new poster but, FWIW, I would give Concert the benefit of the doubt with respect to quality of materials and construction. In my experience, they are good folks to deal with.

But I do think you have to have *some* taste. And what I mean by that, is that you have to have some reason to like a building *beyond* the fact that it is "not a box" or it is "different." If you are defining your preference for something based on negative qualities - how it is not like something else - than you are not actually expressing a preference for something. You are simply expressing your distaste for this thing you don't like - in this case, what you think aA's designs consist of.

The minimalistic boxes that abound in Toronto is a very straight forward geometrical form, just because someone doesn't find that form to be very interesting does not mean they are lacking in taste. Personally I generally don't find the form very interesting per se, but that doesn't mean I paint all such buildings with the same brush. Imo, some of the most beautiful buildings in the world are boxes - The 4 Seasons and the Trump World Tower in NYC being two prominent examples that I personally admire greatly.