News   Jul 30, 2021
 3K     5 
News   Jul 30, 2021
 154     0 
News   Jul 30, 2021
 500     0 

Using The New Urban Toronto Forum

PinkLucy

Moderator
Staff member
Member Bio
Joined
Jun 10, 2009
Messages
8,808
Reaction score
5,304
You don't have to stop "watching" the thread, you can still watch it but not receive email notifications.
 

Leo_Chan

Senior Member
Member Bio
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
1,977
Location
Richmond Hill
Don't know if this is the right thread, but I'll ask this forum quoting question here.

Is there a way to insert a quote from a off site source (news article/document) and have a link to the site as well as a title?

For example, you can link a post like this with
upload_2018-7-30_14-18-43.png

^^ a personal favourite of mine.
but I would like to link as piece of text from a site with
upload_2018-7-30_14-17-20.png

General PRESTO questions
which doesn't link correctly or
upload_2018-7-30_14-17-33.png

site: https://www.ttc.ca/Fares_and_passes/PRESTO/FAQ.jsp said:
General PRESTO questions
which doesn't link but can see site.

Of course, you could always just add a hyperlink to the a piece of text with the title of the site, but that doesn't really feel integrated.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2018-7-30_14-17-20.png
    upload_2018-7-30_14-17-20.png
    6.3 KB · Views: 671
  • upload_2018-7-30_14-17-33.png
    upload_2018-7-30_14-17-33.png
    6 KB · Views: 581
  • upload_2018-7-30_14-18-43.png
    upload_2018-7-30_14-18-43.png
    6.2 KB · Views: 704

someMidTowner

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Staff member
Member Bio
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
15,026
Location
(Former) Ward 16
Don't know if this is the right thread, but I'll ask this forum quoting question here.

Is there a way to insert a quote from a off site source (news article/document) and have a link to the site as well as a title?

For example, you can link a post like this with View attachment 151827

but I would like to link as piece of text from a site with View attachment 151825

which doesn't link correctly or View attachment 151826

which doesn't link but can see site.

Of course, you could always just add a hyperlink to the a piece of text with the title of the site, but that doesn't really feel integrated.
Yes, add the text you want quoted, highlight it, and select insert quote (image showing how below). Then just link the source!
Capture.JPG
 

Attachments

  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    28.8 KB · Views: 667

someMidTowner

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Staff member
Member Bio
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
9,339
Reaction score
15,026
Location
(Former) Ward 16
How do I link the source, does it get added to the header of the quote, or just a regular hyperlink?
Just a regular hyperlink should be fine
 

LostAlbertan

New Member
Member Bio
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
74
Reaction score
63
Location
King W
I was trying to create a new post on the Rate this Design/Floorplan photo, but I see no option to do so. At the bottom of the forum, it indicates my profile has insufficient privileges to post. Can you let me know how I can gain the privileges to create a new post? I similarly have the same issue with this forum - I cannot create a new post, only reply to existing posts.
 

Edward Skira

http://skyrisecities.com
Staff member
Member Bio
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
14,557
Reaction score
14,241
Location
Toronto
I was trying to create a new post on the Rate this Design/Floorplan photo, but I see no option to do so. At the bottom of the forum, it indicates my profile has insufficient privileges to post. Can you let me know how I can gain the privileges to create a new post? I similarly have the same issue with this forum - I cannot create a new post, only reply to existing posts.

You need 20 posts to start a new thread @LostAlbertan
 

tomcsmith

New Member
Member Bio
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Ontario, Canada
I'm glad I searched Google and came across this thread because for the longest time, I couldn't find out why I was unable to create a thread.

As a suggestion from a new forum member, I recommend that this notice is made more visible to new users. For example, on other forums that I've used in the past, some of them have a "Create Thread" button, but once you click it, it brings up a notice notifying you of lack of post count. Another forum required verification through a forum admin or moderator to ensure that you weren't a spam bot.

Agree - i've stumbled across it but it wasn't obvious!
 

Goldie

Senior Member
Member Bio
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
4,324
Reaction score
3,089
Just a suggestion:
I notice that you make the thread title a slightly darker shade of blue when there's some new activity.
However, I find that it's difficult to recognize the slight difference.........just eyesight problem?
Could you make a clearer distinction?.......,maybe just darken the text more or change the colour?
 

TDE

New Member
Member Bio
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
11
Hi,

Is there a button somewhere where I can read from the last read or first unread post in a thread? It used to be a thing here. I now resort to just reading posts from ther penultimate page onward.
 

Edward Skira

http://skyrisecities.com
Staff member
Member Bio
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
14,557
Reaction score
14,241
Location
Toronto
Is there a button somewhere where I can read from the last read or first unread post in a thread? It used to be a thing here. I now resort to just reading posts from ther penultimate page onward.

This is now a reality @TDE .
 
  • Like
Reactions: TDE

Top