169     0 
News   Apr 26, 2024
 253     0 
News   Apr 26, 2024
 444     0 

Honour System/Proof of Payment

N

nstuch

I've been riding the Queen streetcar almost daily for nearly 2 years and have never seen enforcement of the POP system, ie transit cops come on and check people's passes or transfers. what is the frequency of this actually occuring?

Anarchy rules! All sense of decorum has broken down!

For instance, I've noticed more and more people pushing to get on the exit doors on the College car when it gets to Yonge.

I'm not sure of the etiquette. If I'm standing there when one gets on, do I engage in "dork blocking" on behalf of the TTC? Do I shout "They Shall Not Pass!" and hope they retreat? Do I snitch to the driver?

I have the same dilemna. If others don't pay, why should I? Maybe they should have turnstiles on exits so no one can sneak on.

Queen's the only POP route, right?

I was on a POP-cop'd Queen car a few days ago. They're still doing it...

POP cops

My father rode the Queen streetcar a few months ago. He didn't know about/understand the POP system. He paid the conductor at the front of the car but did not take a transfer. Some time later two transit cops came on and kicked him off because he didn't have proof of payment. I believe he also got a ticket.

Re: College
Hmm, I'm willing to bet that most of the people getting in using the back doors have have transfers or Metropasses.

3-4 years ago, during the morning rush hour, at Yonge & College, they used to have TTC ticket inspectors who would let people with transfers and Metropasses in from the back door. Maybe the TTC should bring them back.

They have them at King and University during the afternoon rush hour.