News   May 06, 2024
 785     0 
News   May 06, 2024
 603     1 

Careers In Urban Planning?

Cooool

Member Bio
Reaction score
I'm in third year University at McMaster for Geography and Communications Studies and I'm starting to warm up to the idea of a job in urban planning. The University does not offer urban planning and transferring schools would simply not be worth it.

Should I pursue a post graduate degree in college after University?

Should I aim for a Master's degree (please say no)?

Is urban planning a wise option and worth pursuing?

Will a geography degree suffice for a job in urban planning?

Thank you for very much.

Should I pursue a post graduate degree in college after University?
Should I aim for a Master's degree (please say no)?
To be an urban planner you need to be a member of the CIP/OPPI. So, you'll need to get a post-graduate degree from an accredited program (Essentially, you need a masters from one of 6 schools in Ontario)
http://www.ontarioplanners.on.ca/content/BecomeAMember/recognizedprograms.aspx

Why are you against getting a masters?
Is urban planning a wise option and worth pursuing?
The reason I chose it was because I felt a Masters degree in Public Policy was too narrow. With a planning degree, you can do so much. For example, I'm mostly focusing on policy in tourism, but I'm also getting a great background in the actual practice of planning. This way I can go in any number of directions once I'm done school. Also, with planning you can work in the public or private sector, so there are numerous paths you can take. Plus, cities aren't going anywhere. Urban planning is a hot topic issue right now (just look at this message board). I think it's a pretty exciting field to be in.
Will a geography degree suffice for a job in urban planning?