Aiming to avoid potentially confusing duplicates of existing station names, Metrolinx set out in 2015 to finalize station names on the new Crosstown LRT, now under construction, based on a flexible naming protocol that uses existing intersecting streets and local landmarks to identify underground stations and surface stops. 

After seeking public input and receiving a list of recommendations from the TTC, a number of suggestions were taken into consideration by Metrolinx, who finalized most of the the line’s station and stop names in December. The remaining names were decided upon this afternoon to meet a January 20th deadline set out in a contract with Crosslinx Transit Solutions.

Map of Crosstown route with initial station names, image courtesy of Metrolinx

The three names were called into question last month at a Metrolinx board meeting, leading to further exploration of alternate station names for stops at Dufferin, Bathurst, and Lebovic. At today's meeting, the previously recommended names of Fairbank and Forest Hill were confirmed for Dufferin and Bathurst Streets while noting that those street names would be added on the station walls, similar to how Queen Street appears below Osgoode on the University line. Other stations with names that do not feature the street name which were already determined will also have the street name added.

Coming into the meeting today, it was recommended that Lebovic be renamed Hakimi in favour of the street leading north from the same intersection where Lebovic leads south. No reason for choosing one over the other street was given (Hakimi is a much shorter street), and after a short debate a compromise name of Hamiki Lebovic was arrived at.

The full list of stop and station names and their associated intersections with Eglinton along the route’s 19-kilometre corridor, organized from west to east, is included below. 

Mount Dennis (Weston Rd./Black Creek Dr.)

Keelesdale (Keele St.)


Fairbank (Dufferin St.)


Cedarvale (Allen Rd. — The TTC has decided to rename Eglinton West station on the University line to Cedarvale)

Forest Hill (Bathurst St.)



Eglinton (Yonge St.)

Mount Pleasant

Leaside (Bayview Ave.)


Sunnybrook Park (Leslie St.)

Science Centre (Don Mills Rd.)

Aga Khan Park and Museum (Ferrand Dr.)





Hakimi Lebovic

Golden Mile (Warden Ave.)




We will be sure to return as new work progresses on the Crosstown LRT. In the meantime, you can view our dataBase files for associated stations below.

Related Companies:  Crosslinx Transit Solutions, Daoust Lestage Architecture, GFL Environmental Inc., IBI Group, LEA Consulting, Metrolinx, NORR Architects, SvN, Toronto Transit Commission