616     0 
News   May 21, 2024
 478     0 

Advice - What's this unit worth?

Urban Newbie

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hi All:
A friend who is a total newbie to the condo world is contemplating entering into a private sale with a friend for an older unit on Lakeshore Blvd. West. I wanted to check in on her behalf to see if any of you are familiar with the building/area and what you think of its value.

My friend says a similar units with more upgrades sold in this same building for about $245,000. She's wondering if it's a pipe dream to get the unit below for between 220,000 - 230,000. It sounds low to me, but I wanted to put it to the experts.

Details:

Building: Marina Del Ray, Lakeshore Blvd. West, Toronto - 9th Floor (limited south/south-west view)

Ammenities: Exercise room/pool

Maintenance fees: $430/mth

Approx 710 sq ft 1 bedroom plus den, 1 bathroom. No balcony.

Kitchen – new marble counter tops (wh), new single sink, new tile back splash (wh), new doors on cupboards, new floor, new lighting fixtures; used appliances (electric stove/fridge/dishwasher)

New washer/dryer in separate hall closet near condo entrance and next to kitchen

Closets (2) – hall / bedroom (bedroom not walk in, but interior refinished); also full length mirror on 2 closet sliding doors

Underground parking (1 space)

Locker (locker and parking space, both close to underground door to building)

I know I'm asking you to speculate, but any insights are appreciated. Thanks!
UN

The unit 926 (same floor) is currently on the market for $268900, it has 880 sq ft with parking. That is $306 psf, the unit that your friend is looking at has 710 sq ft, $306x710=$217k. Most of the times the smaller units carry a higher price per sq ft, so I would say something in the range of $220-$230 as your friend says sounds reasonable to me.

I'd be more cautious about the condo fee. $430 is high for 710 ft. Older buildings tend to escalate their condo fees at a more rapid pace as well.

Living By the Lake