News   Apr 26, 2024
 2.4K     4 
News   Apr 26, 2024
 611     0 
News   Apr 26, 2024
 1.2K     1 

Danforth Line 2 Scarborough Subway Extension

You take the SRT every day and then tell me it's just a vanity project to boost Scarborough resident's self-esteem. Most people who take the rt now probably don't have cars, most connections are made from other transit connections, be it the subway or buses. Also, the ability to drive downtown instead of taking transit does not mean they aren't poor or neglected by transit planning. I don't understand what you are trying to say here but the tone (that I'm getting at least) is not appreciated and is unnecessary.
As a former Scarborough resident I took the RT daily. I am sorry if my tone frustrates you.

Scarborough could have had a network of LRTs to help make getting to the subway easier. However there was a lot of talk here and other places how Scarborough was being neglected and that it too deserved a subway. An attack on the poor was the narrative. Then there was a bunch of discussion even at city council which showed how much development would have to happen to justify a subway extension. But Scarborough residents again said sure bring on the density. Now instead of density we’re talking about a parking garage? Isn’t that the exact opposite of what we want beside subway stations?

I understand Scarborough may feel that it hasn’t been serviced well in transit over the years but it sure seems like give an inch and take a mile.

Then there was a bunch of discussion even at city council which showed how much development would have to happen to justify a subway extension. But Scarborough residents again said sure bring on the density. Now instead of density we’re talking about a parking garage? Isn’t that the exact opposite of what we want beside subway stations?