Toronto Sugar Wharf Condominiums (Phase 1) | 231m | 70s | Menkes | a—A

As far as i'm concerned, the only two architects that really stand out from the crowd in this city are Sweeny & Co and HP. Teeple has been starting to step up their game as well.

As for the rest of them I wont even hold my breath with anything they put forth.

We need more outside firms designing projects in this area to spice things up. I'm not saying any thing negative about any local firms, but when things get over saturated, they also get less interesting.

Do you think that would help? I honestly have no idea, and view these proposals with more of a pedestrian/amateurish eye. But maybe the developers did hire outside firms or held design competitions - with this one winning? I really don't know. But it is triangular, which is fairly unique for Toronto. Doesn't really impress me, but I'm not an expert by any means. The last two Toronto highrise projects that created major emotion in me were The One and Mirvish Gehry (for loving the structural expressionism of the former and being confused/disgusted by the latter).

So I guess I'm more asking: what types of architecture - or specific examples of lauded highrise architecture worldwide - do people want to see here? And how can we get these built in Lower Yonge? This site definitely deserves something bold and unique.

Do you think that would help? I honestly have no idea, and view these proposals with more of a pedestrian/amateurish eye. But maybe the developers did hire outside firms or held design competitions - with this one winning? I really don't know. But it is triangular, which is fairly unique for Toronto. Doesn't really impress me, but I'm not an expert by any means. The last two Toronto highrise projects that created major emotion in me were The One and Mirvish Gehry (for loving the structural expressionism of the former and being confused/disgusted by the latter).