News   Apr 25, 2024
 381     0 
News   Apr 25, 2024
 1.1K     4 
News   Apr 25, 2024
 1.1K     0 

How much are closing/lawyer fees? Recommendations?

gentlepuppies

Member Bio
Reaction score
I'm new to all this and about to make an offer on a $400K condo. Assuming $80K downpayment, how much money do I really need to set aside for all of this? Do you even recommend 20% down, given the low interest rates? Coworkers are telling me to just put 5-10% if possible and invest the rest in stocks - I know nothing about stocks lol.

Any lawyer or agent recommendations? I heard fees are higher for assignments? Do I even need an agent to look after the purchase (assuming I do all the condo hunting). Currently I get daily auto-dumps of listings from an agent... if I forgo their services after I find a place, can that be used to negotiate lower asking price from the seller, since he only needs to pay commission to seller agent only?

Sorry for all the noob questions!

What do you think is involved in making an offer? Do you think you just call them up and tell them the price you want to pay, and that's it? You're being naive - if you have to ask if an agent is necessary, then by virtue of how little you know, the answer is YES, you need an agent. The only people that don't need an agent are the ones who don't have to ask that question. Get an agent. You can't possibly run your own comps and know what a good offer is, nor can you possibly know what a good offering strategy is, if you don't even ask those questions.

How much you should put down is entirely a function of what your borrowing terms are, how long you're going to own the property, how much you have in the bank (and what you can afford as carrying costs on a monthly basis), and what kind of investments you have access to. Once again... get an agent. A good one will help you work all of these numbers and determine the best strategy for you. It's a no-brainer as a first-time buyer.