613     2 
News   Apr 19, 2024
 1K     3 

*Wild* Plants of Toronto

Northern Light

Superstar
Member Bio
Reaction score
For some time now, we've had a thread called the Toronto Tree Thread discussing trees and forests, and I answer some questions where possible.

I thought this was a logical extension of that; except that I will cover all types of plants found in Toronto's wild areas.

I asterisked the word *wild* in order to convey that I will look at native and non-native plants alike, and even the odd garden escapee.

I ask that people bear with me on questions, as I am not botanist by trade, or anything close (never went to school for plants at all); I'm just knowledgeable.

But I will endeavour to answer questions were I can.

Plants writ-large, being a much larger class than trees alone, there are lots more holes in my knowledge!

Content will be begin with post #2

Spring has sprung.........and things are starting to come to life in Toronto's forests.

Here are a few I've noticed so far, as at March 30th, 2021 (photos are all by me, from this March)

Lets start with a picture I posted in the GO Construction Thread, from Small's Creek Ravine.

This has 2 plants in it.

The prominent yellow flower, a native plant, 'Marsh Marigold'.

This spring wildflower is an ephemeral, meaning it disappears as the weather gets warmer.

It grows, not surprisingly, in marshes and more specifically in muck.

Its not a full-on aquatic plant; but needs quite a bit of moisture.

1617148853497.png

More detail on this plant here:

But what's that around it?

Its a non-native plant......that also quite likes water.........Its native to Eurasia.

Its......Watercress.

I strongly advise against eating any from a natural area, both because it sets a bad example, but also because one can't know what its in the water in which it is growing.

Also, needless to say, there is a serious risk of misidentifying a plant; that could have serious consequences!

More on this plant here: