Toronto Maison Wellesley | 49.79m | 14s | Graywood | Diamond Schmitt

Red_Bulmer

Member Bio
Reaction score
5F7CDD45-67AF-4AB2-AC49-E5199A6F5C04.jpeg

OMG! WWIII! As a former longterm resident I'll say that the Villagers don't take kindly to capitalist development. Got to preserve the "village feel."

I'm pretty happy to see that parking lot be filled in, it's much larger than it looks. It does serve yearly as a concert space though.
A small development like what was approved for The Beer Store up the street would work well but it's going to be difficult.
I think they will have to keep the entire Victorian building Crews and Tangos is in and the patio/tree in front of Boutique Bar.
This is a bustling noisy strip at night, having the residential units as far away from the street as possible would be a good idea.
This will be a particularly difficult one for the developer to please the community.

I've been hearing about how some developer or another "is consulting the community to redevleop this site into condos" for 15 years. I'm curious why this report is more credible?

In a statement, a Graywood rep said the development is in the early planning stages and that Crews & Tangos recently extended its lease for two years.

"While Graywood has reached out to a few community groups to set up preliminary meetings, we are early in the planning process and there are no concrete plans at this moment," the Graywood spokesperson wrote in an email to NOW. "Graywood has recently signed a two-year lease extension with the operators of Crews & Tangos and we anticipate no changes to their operations during that time.

"It’s our intention to work with our tenants and the community to understand the vision and values of the Church-Wellesley neighbourhood, in order to have that feedback inform our development proposal."