News   Sep 16, 2019
 1.1K     6 
News   Sep 16, 2019
 1.4K     17 
News   Sep 16, 2019
 1.1K     0 

Parks - new & revitalized

buildup

Senior Member
Member Bio
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
2,206
Reaction score
292
There was a period where Forumers, for good reason, criticized Toronto & its administers for neglecting parks. Maybe at that time the focus was keeping pace with construction. But in the last few months, I've been overwhelmed at the fine new or revitalized parks completed or announced.

Any thoughts on creating a single list?
 

AlvinofDiaspar

Moderator
Member Bio
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
25,934
Reaction score
12,856
Location
Toronto
There was a period where Forumers, for good reason, criticized Toronto & its administers for neglecting parks. Maybe at that time the focus was keeping pace with construction. But in the last few months, I've been overwhelmed at the fine new or revitalized parks completed or announced.

Any thoughts on creating a single list?
Let me start (with links to project threads where they exist - and I am using a broader public space criteria that goes beyond "parks"):


Completed Revitalizations

Berczy Park - https://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-berczy-park-revitalization-m-s.20520

Grange Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-grange-park-m-s.7597/

Queen's Quay West - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-queens-quay-waters-edge-revitalization-m-s-waterfront-toronto.5771/
- subthread Wavedecks - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/head-of-slips-waterfront-toronto-west-8-dtah.5475/

Nathan Phillips Square - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-toronto-city-hall-and-nathan-phillips-square-m-s-city-of-toronto-perkins-will.2610/

Cawthra Park

Victoria Memorial Park


Completed New Builds

Back Campus Fields (U of T) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/u-of-t-back-campus-fields-project-conversion-from-grass-to-astroturf.19826/

Canada and Ontario Square (Harbourfront) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-ontario-square-and-canada-square-m-s-waterfront-toronto.7092/

Canoe Landing Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-canoe-landing-park-m-s-concord-adex.600/

Corktown Commons - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-corktown-common-m-s-waterfront-toronto-maryann-thompson.3535/

Evergreen Brickworks - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-evergreen-brick-works-m-s-evergreen-dtah.734/

HTO - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/hto-park-central-waterfront.4093/

June Callwood Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-june-callwood-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-gh3.7843/

Lisgar Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-lisgar-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-oleson-worland.20694/

Parc Downsview Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/parc-downsview-park.773/

Sherbourne Common - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-sherbourne-common-canadas-sugar-beach-and-the-waters-edge-promenade-m-s-waterfront-toronto-teeple-architects.5221/

Sugar Beach - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-sherbourne-common-canadas-sugar-beach-and-the-waters-edge-promenade-m-s-waterfront-toronto-teeple-architects.5221/

Trillium Park (part of Ontario Place) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-ontario-place-m-s-province-of-ontario-zeidler.13572/

Underpass Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-underpass-park-m-s-waterfront-toronto.11766/

Mist Gardens (part of Four Seasons Hotel)

Regent Park

Roundhouse Park


Proposals (Under Construction, Pre-Construction or Planning/Consultation Stage)

318 Queens Quay - https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=2cb40d23088ba510VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD&vgnextchannel=df50ab24a07f9410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

Aitken Place Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-east-bayfront-aitken-place-park-m-s-waterfront-toronto.21195/

Allan Gardens - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/allan-gardens-revitalization-plan.5917/

Barbara Ann Scott Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-barbara-ann-scott-park-revitalization-at-college-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-raw-design.19304/

Beare Hill Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/beare-hill-park-city-of-toronto-wsp.27541/

Bellevue Square Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/news/2017/06/construction-shaping-kensington-markets-bellevue-square-park

Bentway - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-the-bentway-was-under-gardiner-m-s-waterfront-toronto.24574/

Clarence Square (part of 400 Front) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-400-front-street-204m-60s-state-building-group-architectsalliance.21153/

Foot of York (placeholder name) Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-lower-simcoe-ramp-and-new-park-m-s-city-of-toronto.21786/page-48

Grand Manitoba Park - https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=a6a3a36de9bc2510VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD&vgnextchannel=df50ab24a07f9410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

Lake Ontario Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/waterfront-lake-ontario-park-field-operations.3464/

Landscape of Landmark Quality (U of T) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/u-of-t-landscape-of-landmark-quality-0s.24144/

Dr. Lillian McGregor Park (part of 11 Wellesley project) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-wellesley-on-the-park-194m-60s-lanterra-kpmb.4922/

Moss Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/519-sport-and-recreation-project-moss-park-arena-revitalization-mjma-west-8-public-studio-lga-svn.21431/

Mouth of the Creek Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-mouth-of-the-creek-park-m-s-city-of-toronto.19699/

Promontory Park (part of Lower Don Lands) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-lower-don-lands-redevelopment-m-s-waterfront-toronto.3363/

Queen's Park North - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/queens-park-north-revitalization.16933/

Rail Deck Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/rail-deck-park.25731/

Ramsden Park Revitalization - https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=f0c85d21063e7510VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD&vgnextchannel=3cf419cb2c521510VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

Riverdale Park Revitalization - https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=b8e6c4501a88e410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD&vgnextchannel=3cf419cb2c521510VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

St. James Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/st-james-park-revitalization-pma-landscape-architects.25704/

Scarborough Waterfront Project - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/scarborough-waterfront-project-trca.20840/

Stanley Greene Park - https://www1.toronto.ca/City Of Toronto/City Planning/Urban Design/Files/pdf/DRP/DRP 2017/FINAL MINUTES June 8 2017.pdf

Toronto Botanical Gardens - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/edwards-and-toronto-botanical-gardens.27468/

Willcocks Common (U of T) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/u-of-t-willcocks-common-dtah.7524/

David Pecaut Square

Dufferin Hill Park

Pessoa Park

Parliament Square Park

Feel free to suggest additional ones - the list is missing suburban entries.

AoD
 
Last edited:

Northern Light

Senior Member
Member Bio
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
4,228
Reaction score
3,818
Location
Toronto/EY
Hmmm, suburban entries.

In East York there's a tiny project to establish a new greenspace on Cedarcrest (just west of Dawes Rd.) and link it to an existing playground on Dawes Road via a new trail/sidewalk .

http://www.councillordavis.com/highlights/cedarcrest-and-cronkwright-park-consultation-meeting

In Scarborough there's a major park moving forward at 705 Progress, along the banks of Highland Creek.

https://helloglenn.ca/parks-and-gardens/

Also noted at the link above is a new 'Toyota Place Park'

Also Beare Rd. Landfill, adjacent to Rouge Park is to become a formal greenspace.

https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=5c30dada600f0410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD&vgnextchannel=5c98dada600f0410VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD
 

salsa

Senior Member
Member Bio
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
7,983
Reaction score
6,971
Location
North York
Let me start (with links to project threads where they exist - and I am using a broader public space criteria that goes beyond "parks"):


Completed Revitalizations

Berczy Park - https://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-berczy-park-revitalization-m-s.20520

Grange Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-grange-park-m-s.7597/

Queen's Quay West - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-queens-quay-waters-edge-revitalization-m-s-waterfront-toronto.5771/
- subthread Wavedecks - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/head-of-slips-waterfront-toronto-west-8-dtah.5475/

Nathan Phillips Square - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-toronto-city-hall-and-nathan-phillips-square-m-s-city-of-toronto-perkins-will.2610/

Cawthra Park


Completed New Builds

HTO - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/hto-park-central-waterfront.4093/

Sugar Beach - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-sherbourne-common-canadas-sugar-beach-and-the-waters-edge-promenade-m-s-waterfront-toronto-teeple-architects.5221/

Corktown Commons - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-corktown-common-m-s-waterfront-toronto-maryann-thompson.3535/

Sherbourne Common - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-sherbourne-common-canadas-sugar-beach-and-the-waters-edge-promenade-m-s-waterfront-toronto-teeple-architects.5221/

Underpass Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-underpass-park-m-s-waterfront-toronto.11766/

Parc Downsview Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/parc-downsview-park.773/

Lisgar Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-lisgar-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-oleson-worland.20694/

June Callwood Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-june-callwood-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-gh3.7843/

Trillium Park (part of Ontario Place) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-ontario-place-m-s-province-of-ontario-zeidler.13572/

Ontario and Canada Square - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-ontario-square-and-canada-square-m-s-waterfront-toronto.7092/

Evergreen Brickworks - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-evergreen-brick-works-m-s-evergreen-dtah.734/

Regent Park

Roundhouse Park


Proposals (Under Construction, Planning or Pre-Planning Stage)

Barbara Ann Scott Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-barbara-ann-scott-park-revitalization-at-college-park-m-s-city-of-toronto-raw-design.19304/

Rail Deck Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/rail-deck-park.25731/

Bentway - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-the-bentway-was-under-gardiner-m-s-waterfront-toronto.24574/

Aitken Place Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-east-bayfront-aitken-place-park-m-s-waterfront-toronto.21195/

Queen's Park North - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/queens-park-north-revitalization.16933/

Lake Ontario Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/waterfront-lake-ontario-park-field-operations.3464/

Landscape of Landmark Quality - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/u-of-t-landscape-of-landmark-quality-0s.24144/

Willcocks Common - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/u-of-t-willcocks-common-dtah.7524/

Allan Gardens - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/allan-gardens-revitalization-plan.5917/

Toronto Botanical Gardens - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/edwards-and-toronto-botanical-gardens.27468/

Wellesley on the Park (part of 11 Wellesley) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-wellesley-on-the-park-194m-60s-lanterra-kpmb.4922/

Promontory Park (part of Lower Don Lands) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-lower-don-lands-redevelopment-m-s-waterfront-toronto.3363/

Mouth of the Creek Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-mouth-of-the-creek-park-m-s-city-of-toronto.19699/

St. James Park - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/st-james-park-revitalization-pma-landscape-architects.25704/

Clarence Square (part of 400 Front) - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/toronto-400-front-street-204m-60s-state-building-group-architectsalliance.21153/

Western Waterfront Master Plan - http://urbantoronto.ca/forum/threads/western-waterfront-master-plan.8554/

David Pecaut Square

Feel free to suggest additional ones - the list is missing suburban entries.

AoD
Wow great work creating that huge list.
 

DSC

Superstar
Member Bio
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
10,247
Reaction score
4,988
Location
St Lawrence Market Area
David Crombie Park is slated for an upgrade in 2019 and at that time or 2020 the current temporary North Market site will be turned into a park that will link David Crombie to Market Street. Then, as the new North Market ought to be finished, Market Lane Park will be refurbished and link St James Park to Market Street.

Parliament Square Park will be incorporated into the First Parliament site in some way. The City has a current tender out for the creation of Master Plan for that whole block. No dates on any actual work, except that the New St Lawrence District Library will go somewhere on that block (probably along Front Street) and the TPL hopes to start that in 2018 or 2019.
 
Last edited:

AlvinofDiaspar

Moderator
Member Bio
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
25,934
Reaction score
12,856
Location
Toronto
Added some additional entries and organized the sub-types by alpha order. Considering moving to spreadsheet format with additional info (landscape architect, year, etc)

AoD
 
Top