News   Jul 12, 2024
 1K     1 
News   Jul 12, 2024
 383     0 

Moving to Quebec - Advice?

MetroMan

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm planning on moving to Quebec shortly and my French is limited.

I'm moving to Trois-Rivières. I imagine it'll be harder there than if I went to Montreal. The general idea I get is that if you're anglophone, you'll have a harder time getting work and francophones still tend to be unaccepting of english speakers.

Will I get the "Go back to Toronto" attitude or am I getting the wrong impression?

I studied 7 years of french through school but never really used it in practice. I understand written french and limited spoken french and can put phrases together but I'm missing a lot of vocabulary. I think that if I spent 1 year in an exclusively french speaking environment, I could become functional in french. The problem is finding work to sustain myself during that year.

Right now I'm an event photographer and graphic designer. I also speak at promotional retail events in department stores. Essentially, my professional life has always been in dealing directly with the public. I run a business and would like to do the same when I get to Quebec but since I'd be working with clients, I'm wondering if I'd be accepted as an english speaker.

It'll be difficult...even if you speak french well, if you are not "quebecois", then you'll get the cold shoulder alot. It may be easier to run your own business than to work for someone else though. In general..some people will shun you, most won't.

@ Maggie ... trust me, I'll miss Toronto. It's a tough choice but one I will make with conviction and a little bit of excitement for the adventure it will take me on.

@ urbandreamer... how did you know? haha

Yes, I've been dating a girl from there and due to her mom's diagnosis of a health problem, she wants to be close and moved back home. This is the woman I know without a doubt I want to marry so I will follow.