News   Apr 24, 2024
 359     0 
News   Apr 24, 2024
 411     0 
News   Apr 24, 2024
 767     1 

A couple questions for Planners about the Planning job market.

jn_12

Member Bio
Reaction score
So I finished my Masters in Planning at York back in May and I was wondering if I could get some thoughts from those of you that are planners here. I haven't been able to find a job yet. I've been sending out resumes to municipal postings in the GTA, as well as to the various private firms in the GTA. I've sent out 50 or so in 4 months. Now, I know it's not an issue with my resume (not to be naive or anything, I just have a resume that has never had trouble getting me some very good positions before) and I know that one entry-level position with a smaller town in the GTA had over 150 applicants, which makes me think this level of competition is pretty common right now considering very few entry-level planning positions have been posted the summer.

To be honest, I'm a bit more interested in private firms, simply because I like the creative aspect, plus I'm a pretty competitive person (so bidding on projects and whatnot would be right up my alley), but I have considerable public sector experience so it wouldn't bother me to work in that environment either.

So I'm wondering a few things:
In your mind, what is the planning job market like right now?
Is Summer usually this slow for government hiring? are municipalities waiting until after the election?
If you work for a private firm, is the economy still having an impact on hiring?
If you work for a private firm, how did you get the position? I notice that few of them actually post open positions, so it's difficult to ascertain who is hiring and who isn't.
And really, any other relevant info would be welcome.

If you don't feel you can talk about it in a public forum for whatever reason, please feel free to send me a private message. Any help/insight is definitely appreciated. Thanks

Network, Network and Network.