News   Jun 14, 2024
 1.9K     1 
News   Jun 14, 2024
 1.4K     1 
News   Jun 14, 2024
 765     0 

Search results

  1. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Interesting question. This postcard shows the sign and given that the streetcar tracks were removed in 1966 and the ManuLife Centre started construction in 1970, it was at least there during this period.
  2. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    And the Britannica building opened in 1962.
  3. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Bloor looking east at Avenue Road: Early 1960's: Now (photo by Blixtein on The One thread):
  4. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    A good illustration of the homoginization of Yonge. Nostalgia aside, gone are the free-standing cinemas, live music, record stores, book stores, bars, clubs, one-off restaurants, mom-and-pop stores, piano and music stores, bowling alleys and department stores.
  5. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Another view west in 1915:
  6. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Yonge looking north from the blocks north of College (note the Masonic Hall at Gloucester in all three): 1914: 1972: Today (pic by CanadianNational):
  7. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    View of Five St. Joseph from Breadalbane Street: Around 2015: Now:
  8. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Always liked this pic of the Royal Visit in 1959 showing the SE corner (which was replaced by the Simpson Tower):
  9. thecharioteer

    Toronto 100 Davenport | 72m | 19s | 100 Davenport Ltd | Scott Shields

    https://www.omb.gov.on.ca/e-decisions/OLT-22-004195-MAR-01-2024.PDF
  10. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    Also, the Simpson Tower was completed in 1968 and it does not appear in the archival photo. Notwithstanding its setback, it left only three windows exposed in the Bay/Richmond building, and it the photo there are four windows:
  11. thecharioteer

    Miscellany Toronto Photographs: Then and Now

    1980's: Proposed:

Back
Top