News   Mar 28, 2024
 197     1 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 607     0 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 372     0 

VIA Rail

Masks don't protect the person wearing them, rather they protect others. Given that VIA staff interact with dozens of passengers daily, many staff members could have the disease and be asymptomatic. Requiring VIA staff to wear masks would help to mitigate this possibility.

Nope sorry that's not true, unless it's a N-95 mask, those cheap dust masks don't do squat. They are made for dust, not for germs. It even says on the package. You sneeze or cough it will go through the mask. I work in construction i only use them for dust, if i'm around chemicals or aerosols or mould, i will wear a respirator.

So because of a safety concern you would have chosen a more dangerous way to get there?
In normal times, yes driving is more dangerous. But we you consider the increased risk of contracting COVID-19, and the safety issues of leaving cars unstaffed. And you balance that with the fact that there are fewer cars on the road reducing the risk of a collision, along with the fact that I have to take public transit from the train station to my school. The dangers roughly balance out.

Nope sorry that's not true, unless it's a N-95 mask, those cheap dust masks don't do squat. They are made for dust, not for germs. It even says on the package. You sneeze or cough it will go through the mask. I work in construction i only use them for dust, if i'm around chemicals or aerosols or mould, i will wear a respirator.
I was talking about surgical masks.

^I may get a chorus of “OK, Old guy” for this comment....but.....

...back in the days before VIA adopted the Service Manager model, the crew for a 14-car Rapido was a head end trainperson and a conductor, who sat together near the front of the consst, and a rear end trainperson, who rode in the last car.

I don’t recall anyone complaining about safety or service quality.

- Paul