News   Mar 28, 2024
 998     2 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 556     2 
News   Mar 28, 2024
 848     0 

Why Montreal rental rates are so lower than rest of the nation?

Isn't rent to own always better than just paying rent?
Yes because after paying rent for lets say 5 years, if it was a rent to own contract, they paid an amount towards the cost of the house whereas when its a rental contract they didnt pay a penny towards the home or apartment.

This discussion may benefit from some knowledge of the rent control laws in Montreal. I have no knowledge but a friend of mine lived there years ago and his landlord was a young guy trying to fix up the building. There were some laws whereby you have to keep the unit empty for some amount of time if you wanted to raise the rent? Can’t remember exactly but definitely regulatory environment disincentives to investing in existing and creating new rental stock

This discussion may benefit from some knowledge of the rent control laws in Montreal. I have no knowledge but a friend of mine lived there years ago and his landlord was a young guy trying to fix up the building. There were some laws whereby you have to keep the unit empty for some amount of time if you wanted to raise the rent? Can’t remember exactly but definitely regulatory environment disincentives to investing in existing and creating new rental stock
If you want to know the Quebec rules you can easily find them on www. See https://www.rdl.gouv.qc.ca/en/renewal-of-the-lease-and-fixing-of-rent/rent-increase.

Of course the rental rates in different places will depend on the applicable laws but also on the demand. The old economic rules about supply and demand hold true!