News   Apr 17, 2024
 927     0 
News   Apr 17, 2024
 318     0 
News   Apr 17, 2024
 1.9K     1 

2018 Municipal Election: Toronto Council Races

How many non-incumbent winners will there be on council?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Is there an easy way to find out which councillors voted with the mayor most often, both Tory and RoFo?

What do people think of Sarah Doucette? She's now my councillor, but I'm fairly new to the neighbourhood and don't have much of a sense of her record, whether good or otherwise. Are there any serious challengers, announced or expected?

I really like her. I don't live in her ward (I live next door) but have friends in her ward and she's very good at being a constituent representative. She is progressive, but is also very reasonable. I wouldn't put her in the category of the latte-sipping elites. She listens and works with people with whom she has different beliefs to get things done (e.g., supporting Mark Grimes on the Park Lawn Go).

Yes, her nomination has been expected, she is the "NDP Candidate" and it is looking like the race in Ward 21 will be between her and Suzanne Kavanagh, the long-time President of the St Lawrence Neighbourhood Association. https://suzannekavanagh.ca/

I find this interesting, for a few reasons:

1. I'm somewhat amused that the media still routinely refers to Jennifer Hollett as a former MuchMusic VJ. She has also worked for CBC, a number of NGOs, and since gotten a Masters degree at the JFK School of Government at Harvard. But for people of a certain age, I guess, having once been a VJ is a notable factor.

2. She ran for the NDP in University-Rosedale, which won't necessarily have increased her profile in Ward 21. Mind you, maybe she doesn't need the profile boost, given that VJ thing. (She did once run in an NDP nomination contest for Toronto Centre, losing to Linda McQuaig, so she would presumably be quite familiar to card-carrying NDPers in Ward 21).