Thinking of a 2 Bedroom Downtown Condo

Discussion in 'Looking To Buy' started by VeronicaLoria, May 12, 2010.

1. VeronicaLoria

VeronicaLoria New Member

Hello Everyone,

I've read the various posts with interest, and thought I'd put some questions of my own here.

I currently have roughly $106,400 set aside as a down payment.

My annual salary is $70,000

I would like to buy a 2 bedroom condo downtown, with a nice view, ideally in a building like the 25 Esplanade (Front & Yonge).

Question is, how much do you think I can get a mortgage with this sort of salary and down payment, and would it be enough to afford buying a 2 bedroom condo downtown ?. Do I need to stump up more as a down payment ?. Finally, because I'm new to all this, what taxes/fees would I need to factor in when buying a new place ?

Thanks in advance for any information you may have.

Kind Regards,
    Veronica

2. Karolina Armstrong

Karolina Armstrong New Member

Hi Veronica,

several factors will affect the price of the condo you want to purchase....do you need parking, do you want a newer building, balcony, high floor, ect.

Currently, newer 2 bedroom condos in the downtown area start at $325,000 with parking (they go down if you don't require a parking spot). If you are not set on being in a recently constructed building (>5 years), they start in the $280,000's. I am not a mortgage broker, but based on the large down payment you have and your annual income, it seems that purchasing a 2 bedroom condo downtown will be no problem. Also, here is a list of some expenses to factor in when purchasing: http://www.searchlocalcondos.com/condo-purchase-expenses

Contact me if you need more info. Would love to help in your search!
    Cheers,
    Karolina

3. Catapult

Catapult Active Member