504     0 
News   Apr 23, 2024
 1.2K     0 

Tai Pan Tours / Bus Tours???

Greg

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am a U of T student, who has only a few weeks and a small budget to fit in a vacation between semesters. There was a bus tour to New York offered through our school, but the accommodations were a hostel, which doesn't really suit my taste.

Does anyone know of any affordable tours leaving from Toronto to New York, Washington, Florida, or any other interesting places within the United States?

I have found a 4 day tour of NYC, Washington, and Boston for only $229.00 through Tai Pan Tours, but I am unsure if this tour operator is legitimate, English speaking, or worth it.

Any feedback on this company, or suggestions as to places to visit or tour operators? Thanks in advance!

Greg:

It's legit - but Chinese speaking.

AoD

Hmm, surely being a Canadian operation, there must be some broken English spoken. Should I consider this a deal breaker and move on, or consider the cheap price and take in the sites with Chinese narration?

Greg:

I don't think I am of much help in that regards - I haven't taken part in these Chinese bus tours - what I do know is that you probably can't beat the price, but the tour itself is very compressed - so don't expect to be able to soak in at any one location.

AoD

It's not Chinese speaking. They do have English speaking guides. The tour does largely cater to Chinese speakers though.

As someone who has taken this 4 day tour I will tell you that it's not worth it. It's terrible for a vacation. You are up at 6 and on the road at 7. You spend most of the time on the road, only to pull up in front off major attractions to take a quick picture.