News   Apr 24, 2024
 572     0 
News   Apr 24, 2024
 493     0 

RRSP for downpayment

gentlepuppies

Member Bio
Reaction score
So I was under the impression that I could use my RRSPs as a condo downpayment (while deferring my taxes lol), so I've been maxing out the contribution limit for the last 3 years. Now I'm reading that the home buyers plan only allows me to withdraw $25K per year from it for my first home. Yet the TD mortgage calculator adds whatever amount I enter under RRSP to the downpayment calculation. When the condo market tanks, I expect to plop $100K on a downpayment with most of it coming from my RRSPs, is that still possible?

^^Yes, that's that I read, real helpful lol. So should I stop putting funds into my rrsps to keep more liquid cash? I'm more interested in getting in the market asap than saving up, as I have a 50 year career ahead of me lol.

So I was under the impression that I could use my RRSPs as a condo downpayment (while deferring my taxes lol), so I've been maxing out the contribution limit for the last 3 years. Now I'm reading that the home buyers plan only allows me to withdraw $25K per year from it for my first home. Yet the TD mortgage calculator adds whatever amount I enter under RRSP to the downpayment calculation. When the condo market tanks, I expect to plop $100K on a downpayment with most of it coming from my RRSPs, is that still possible?

no, as a first time home buyer the maximum amount you are able to withdraw is $25,000. So, it's not a yearly amount you're able to withdraw.. It's the TOTAL amount. And once you withdraw from the HBP you're unable to again unless you don't live and own a principle residence for a set number of years.

if you purchase property with another first time homebuyer, then you both can put towards a maximum $50,000 (25k from you, 25k from him/her) towards the property.