450     2 
News   Apr 19, 2024
 789     3 

Humber Journalism Student Looking for Comments on Winter Commuting

Alison

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a journalism student at Humber College and I am writing a paper on how Torontoians plan to commute in the city this upcoming winter with all the congested traffic delays. I also wouldn't mind your general thoughts on the matter and how you feel the city should improve the issue for all winter commuters.

Please leave me a private message if you want to participate and help me out. This is a school assignment so if you can help me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Hi all,
I am a journalism student at Humber College and I am writing a paper on how Torontoians plan to commute in the city this upcoming winter with all the congested traffic delays.
#1 - I stay off public transit
#2 - I reverse commute, drive from Cabbagetown to McCowan Rd. and Steeles.
#3 - stay off dvp and 401, instead take city road (Dundas to Kingston to Birchmount to Danforth to McCowan)
#4 - when not commuting, walk everywhere, shop local supermarket with bundle buggy.

live 2 minutes from school, cross street like I always do. Other travel patterns will remain unchanged. Trips around the city will still consist of the Subway, streetcar, and bus. Bus home for christmas will be GO bus / Train as always. essentially, my travel patterns are not going to change one bit.

I currently have a great commute by bicycle along the Taylor Creek Trail. It's sheltered from the wind and completely grade-separated, so my commute is incredibly reliable and fast. Last month was particularly enjoyable with the leaves changing colour in the misty early morning light.