News   May 17, 2024
 3K     5 
News   May 17, 2024
 2.1K     3 
News   May 17, 2024
 11K     10 

Toronto Crosstown LRT | ?m | ?s | Metrolinx | Arcadis

Because Metrolinx is paying for the design, and the design influences and is influenced by the headways. Thus, Metrolinx should have a good idea of what standard they need to build to and willing to share the info, while the TTC has more at stake in telling the public a figure that might not be realised.

Well I'm no expert but I'd have thought offpeak frequency was a purely operational decision. You design for peak loads and then decide how many operators to pay for in the middle of the day, right?

I'll leave it to someone else to explain how they could be contemplating peak hour headways that are slower than Sheppard!

Plus Metrolinx will own the Eglinton LRT, I forget partially why it is important for the province to own it. I remember one of my co-workers explaining to me something about it being easier to put upfront capital to expand a line if the province owns it, as opposed to if the city owns it.

Because Metrolinx will own the assets, the initial outlay for them does not get added to the provincial government deficit. This has nothing to do with operational decisions about the line, which will be the TTC's.

Because Metrolinx will own the assets, the initial outlay for them does not get added to the provincial government deficit. This has nothing to do with operational decisions about the line, which will be the TTC's.

Yes I know, I never said the TTC would not operate it. But Metrolinx is purchasing vehicles and building it based on frequencies it is deciding. You don't bite the hand that's feeding you.

TTC finally awarded the design contracts for Chaplin and Oakwood stations - http://www2.ttc.ca/html/awards.htm $4-million each to Aecom. The previous 5 stations awarded back in March from the same tender ranged from $4-million to $10-million.